Reviewed 7 Sept 2026NIST University, Odisha · BerhampurNIST University, Odisha Fees 2026-27, Courses & Admission
NIST University, Odisha is an university in Berhampur, Odisha, established in 1996. NIST University, Odisha is privately managed and self-financing. It is affiliated to NIST University, Odisha. NIST…
About NIST University, Odisha
NIST University, Odisha is an university in Berhampur, Odisha, established in 1996. NIST University, Odisha is privately managed and self-financing. It is affiliated to NIST University, Odisha. NIST University, Odisha offers 11 programmes, 4 at undergraduate level and 3 at postgraduate level. These include School of Engineering: B.Tech and BCA programmes (UG), School of Engineering: M.Tech and MCA programmes (PG), School of Science: B.Sc programmes (UG), School of Science: M.Sc programmes (PG) and School of Management: BBA programmes (UG), among others. The stated sanctioned intake across these programmes totals 120 seats. NIST University is a self-financed private, unitary and non-affiliating university established under the NIST University, Odisha Act, 2023, at Institute Park, Berhampur. The university's official Ph.D. notice covers Monsoon Semester 2026. Current official pages identify Prof. (Dr.) Priyadarsan Patra as Vice-Chancellor. No university-wide attendance percentage, medium of instruction, faculty rank breakdown, exact PhD-holder count, clinical tie-up, bed count, or exact university patent total was published in the reviewed official sources. The statutes define an academic year as Monsoon and Spring semesters, with a Summer quarter. The NIST (National Institute of Science & Technology) University, Odisha Act, 2023, enacted as Odisha Act 1 of 2024, converted the former National Institute of Science & Technology, Berhampur autonomous college into a self-financed, private, unitary and non-affiliating university. The Act states the headquarters are at Pallur Hills, Ganjam; the official university contact page gives the operational address as Berhampur 761008. The institution's 1996 date refers to the predecessor institution, while university status took effect under the Odisha government notification in 2024. The UGC letter states inclusion under Section 2(f), with regular-mode degree awards and no affiliated colleges; it also cautions that inclusion alone does not authorize admissions until required infrastructure and staffing norms are met. No supported current NIRF rank or NAAC dashboard grade was recorded: the official brochure claims NAAC A, but the authoritative NAAC list opened did not contain NIST University.
NIST University, Odisha fees
Each amount is shown with the academic year and applicant category stated by its source.
| Programme | Year | Amount |
|---|---|---|
| B.Tech (Computer Science & Engineering, Information Technology, AI&ML, Data Science) (Computer Science & Engineering; Information Technology; AI&ML; Data Science)Tuition · Not stated; university schedule · All Source | 2026Year 1 | ₹1,80,000per year |
| B.Tech (Computer Science & Engineering, Information Technology, AI&ML, Data Science) (Computer Science & Engineering; Information Technology; AI&ML; Data Science)Tuition · Not stated; university schedule · All Source | 2026Year 2 | ₹1,74,000per year |
| B.Tech (Electronics and Communication) (Electronics and Communication)Tuition · Not stated; university schedule · All Source | 2026Year 1 | ₹1,69,000per year |
| B.Tech (Electronics and Communication) (Electronics and Communication)Tuition · Not stated; university schedule · All Source | 2026Year 2 | ₹1,63,000per year |
| B.Tech (Civil, Electrical, EEE, Mechanical) (Civil; Electrical; EEE; Mechanical)Tuition · Not stated; university schedule · All Source | 2026Year 1 | ₹1,32,000per year |
| B.Tech (Civil, Electrical, EEE, Mechanical) (Civil; Electrical; EEE; Mechanical)Tuition · Not stated; university schedule · All Source | 2026Year 2 | ₹1,26,000per year |
| BCATuition · Not stated; university schedule · All Source | 2026Year 1 | ₹56,000per year |
| BCATuition · Not stated; university schedule · All Source | 2026Year 2 | ₹55,000per year |
| M.Sc (Physics, Chemistry, Maths, CS, Data Science, Biotech) (Physics; Chemistry; Maths; CS; Data Science; Biotech)Tuition · Not stated; university schedule · All Source | 2026Year 1 | ₹60,000per year |
| M.Sc (Physics, Chemistry, Maths, CS, Data Science, Biotech) (Physics; Chemistry; Maths; CS; Data Science; Biotech)Tuition · Not stated; university schedule · All Source | 2026Year 2 | ₹59,000per year |
| MBA (Finance, HR, Marketing, Production and Operations) (Finance; HR; Marketing; Production and Operations)Tuition · Not stated; university schedule · All Source | 2026Year 1 | ₹1,51,000per year |
| MBA (Finance, HR, Marketing, Production and Operations) (Finance; HR; Marketing; Production and Operations)Tuition · Not stated; university schedule · All Source | 2026Year 2 | ₹1,45,000per year |
| MCATuition · Not stated; university schedule · All Source | 2026Year 1 | ₹1,21,000per year |
| MCATuition · Not stated; university schedule · All Source | 2026Year 2 | ₹1,15,000per year |
| M.Tech (CSE, ECE, VLSI, Wireless Communication, Construction, Thermal) (CSE; ECE; VLSI; Wireless Communication; Construction; Thermal)Tuition · Not stated; university schedule · All Source | 2026Year 1 | ₹91,000per year |
| M.Tech (CSE, ECE, VLSI, Wireless Communication, Construction, Thermal) (CSE; ECE; VLSI; Wireless Communication; Construction; Thermal)Tuition · Not stated; university schedule · All Source | 2026Year 2 | ₹75,000per year |
| Ph.D (All Specializations) (All Specializations)Tuition · Not stated; university schedule · All Source | 2026Year 1 | ₹61,000per year |
| Ph.D (All Specializations) (All Specializations)Tuition · Not stated; university schedule · All Source | 2026Year 2 | ₹45,000per year |
| School of Health Science: B Pharma (UG)Total, full course · Not stated; university schedule · For 4 years Source | 2026 | ₹5,05,000total course |
| B.Tech (Computer Science & Engineering, Information Technology, AI&ML, Data Science)Tuition · Not stated; university schedule Source | 2026 | ₹1,80,000per year |
| B.Tech (Electronics and Communication) Source | 2026-27 | ₹1,69,000 |
| B.Tech (Civil, Electrical, EEE, Mechanical) Source | 2026-27 | ₹1,32,000 |
| BCAListed in the cited fee schedule. Current programme availability and admissions status have not been independently confirmed. Source | 2026-27 | ₹56,000per year |
| M.Sc (Physics, Chemistry, Maths, CS, Data Science, Biotech) Source | 2026-27 | ₹60,000 |
| MBA (Finance, Hr, Marketing, Production and Operations) Source | 2026-27 | ₹1,51,000 |
| MCA Source | 2026-27 | ₹1,21,000 |
| M.Tech (CSE, ECE, VLSI, Wireless Communication, Construction, Thermal) Source | 2026-27 | ₹91,000 |
| Ph.D (All Specializations) Source | 2026-27 | ₹61,000 |
| School of Health Science: B Pharma (UG)Tuition Source | 2026-27 | ₹5,05,000total course |
| Other chargesOther charges · Not stated; university schedule · All · For 4 years Source | 2026 | ₹5,05,000total course |
| School of Engineering: B.Tech and BCA programmes (UG) Source | 2026-27 | ₹56,000per year |
| School of Engineering: M.Tech and MCA programmes (PG) Source | 2026-27 | ₹1,21,000per year |
| School of Science: B.Sc programmes (UG) Source | 2026-27 | ₹56,000per year |
| School of Science: M.Sc programmes (PG) Source | 2026-27 | ₹1,21,000per year |
| School of Management: BBA programmes (UG) Source | 2026-27 | ₹56,000per year |
| School of Management: MBA programmes (PG) Source | 2026-27 | ₹1,21,000per year |
| School of Engineering: PhD programmes (doctoral) Source | 2026-27 | ₹56,000per year |
| School of Science: PhD programmes (doctoral) Source | 2026-27 | ₹56,000per year |
| School of Management: PhD programmes (doctoral) Source | 2026-27 | ₹56,000per year |
| School of Health Science: B Pharma (UG) Source | 2026-27 | ₹56,000per year |
NIST University, Odisha gallery
Tap any photo to view it full screen. Source images retain the institution and campus identified in their captions.
Programmes & intake
School of Engineering: M.Tech and MCA programmes (PG)
School of Science: B.Sc programmes (UG)
School of Science: M.Sc programmes (PG)
School of Management: BBA programmes (UG)
School of Management: MBA programmes (PG)
School of Engineering: PhD programmes (doctoral)
School of Science: PhD programmes (doctoral)
School of Management: PhD programmes (doctoral)
School of Health Science: B Pharma (UG)
BCA
Recognition & affiliations
The NIST (National Institute of Science & Technology) University, Odisha Act, 2023
- Regulator
- UGC 2F 12B LIST
Odisha Higher Education Department list of universities - State Private Universities
Faculty & teaching
NIST University, Odisha admissions
NISTEE counselling · Fam Engg PG · All seats (entrance-examination rank)
Seats are filled by NIST University, selection is on entrance-examination rank for the 2026 cycle.
admission sourceNISTEE/SAMS counselling · Fam Science PG · All seats (entrance-examination rank)
Seats are filled by NIST University, selection is on entrance-examination rank for the 2026 cycle.
admission sourceNISTEE/CAT/MAT counselling · Fam Mgmt PG · All seats (entrance-examination rank)
Seats are filled by NIST University, selection is on entrance-examination rank for the 2026 cycle.
admission sourceNISTEE counselling · Fam Science UG · All seats (interview)
Seats are filled by NIST University, selection is on interview for the 2026 cycle.
admission sourceApplications for 2026-27 are open through the university admission portal. Depending on the programme, selection uses NISTEE, specified national/state examinations, merit, or accepted scores such as JEE Main, GATE, CAT and MAT; the PhD process additionally includes an interview. Admission source
Scholarships — sourced details
| Fee category | All Source |
|---|---|
| Period | per year Source |
| Fee year | 2026 Source |
| Component | Tuition annual Source |
| Fee set by | College Source |
| Amount (INR) | 180000 Source |
| Is estimate | No Source |
| Fee category | Not stated; university schedule Source |
| Fee authority | University Source |
| Year of study | 1 Source |
| Programme code | FAM ENGINEERING Source |
| Specialisation | Computer Science & Engineering; Information Technology; AI&ML; Data Science Source |
Research — sourced details
| Discipline | University Source |
|---|---|
| Company | University of California at Riverside Source |
| Institution type | Research Source |
| Year | 2026 Source |
| Company | New Jersey Institute of Technology Source |
| Company | National Taiwan University Source |
| Exam pattern | Semester Source |
Other Colleges in Odisha
Helpful guides for your admission
Planning your application to NIST University, Odisha? These guides break down the fees, counselling rounds and quota routes step by step.
NIST University, Odisha contact details
| Address | Institute Park, Pallur Hills, Near NH, Golanthara, Berhampur, Odisha 761008 |
|---|---|
| info@nist.edu | |
| Website | https://www.nist.edu/ |
| Office bearer | Role |
|---|---|
| Aashhis Mohanty | Office of Dean Admissions Source |
| Dr. Bishnukar Nayak | Registrar Source |
| Dr. Priyadarshan Patra | Vice-Chancellor Source |
| Dr. Sukanta Kishor Mohapatra | President (Chancellor) Source |
| Mr. Kailash Nath Mallick | Finance Officer Source |
| Prof. (Dr.) Priyadarsan Patra | Head of institution Source |
More details
| Official name | NIST University, Odisha Source |
|---|---|
| Institution type | State private university Source |
| Trust or society | SM Charitable Educational Trust Source |
| Established | 1996 Source |
| Name | NIST University, Odisha Source |
| Institution type | Self-awarding Source |
| Affiliation status | Self Source |
| Opens month | 2026 Source |
| Centralised portal | No Source |
| Programme code | FAM ENGG UG Source |
| Name | School of Engineering: B.Tech and BCA programmes (UG) Source |
| Study level | UG Source |
| Eligibility | 10+2 with Physics, Chemistry and Mathematics for B.Tech; programme-specific eligibility applies. Source |
| Intake year | 2026 Source |
| Stated cycle | 2026-27 Source |
| Awarding body | NIST University Source |
| Approving body | Self Source |
| Duration in years | 4 Source |
| Approval status | Approved Source |
| Gender admitted | Co-educational Source |
| Other eligibility | BCA and lateral-entry eligibility varies by programme. Source |
| Awarding body type | Self Source |
| Intake source | College site Source |
| Programme code | FAM ENGG PG Source |
NIST University, Odisha FAQs
What are the fees at NIST University, Odisha?
How can I get admission to NIST University, Odisha?
What courses does NIST University, Odisha offer?
Where is NIST University, Odisha located?
Is NIST University, Odisha recognised and accredited?
Verification & sources
This page cites 20 source links. Each source is linked beside the facts it supports.
- nist.edu · pdf — NIST University, Odisha Act, 2023
- dhe.odisha.gov.in — List of Universities in Odisha
- nist.edu — Institute Contact
- nist.edu — NIST University - At a Glance
- nist.edu — NIST University: A Campus Built for Excellence
- nist.edu — NIST University
- nist.edu — School of Engineering NIST University
- nist.edu — School of Science | NIST University
- nist.edu — School of Management | NIST University
- nist.edu — Ph.D Programs at NIST University
- admission.nist.edu — NIST University Admission 2026
- nist.edu — School of Health Science | NIST University
- nist.edu — NIST Scholarships Programme
- nist.edu — NIST FAQ
- nist.edu · pdf — NIST Chronicle Annual Report 2024
- nist.edu — NIST Campus Placements
- nist.edu — NIST University | Leaders in Science, Technology and Management Education & Training
- nist.edu · pdf — NIST Brochure 2026
- nist.edu — Research & Innovation | NIST University
- nist.edu · pdf — NIST University Statutes
Amrit Ashu
Lead Admission Counsellor. RV College of Engineering 2017 graduate, guiding students for admissions in Bangalore since 2017. Every figure on this page is checked against the official disclosures and sources linked beside it; admissions-office conversations are not used as citations.
