Reviewed 7 Sept 2026Sikkim Manipal Institute of Technology (SMIT) · MajitarSikkim Manipal Institute of Technology Fees 2026-27, Courses & Admission
Sikkim Manipal Institute of Technology is an engineering college in Majitar, Sikkim, established in 1997. Sikkim Manipal Institute of Technology is privately managed and self-financing. It is…
About Sikkim Manipal Institute of Technology (SMIT)
Sikkim Manipal Institute of Technology is an engineering college in Majitar, Sikkim, established in 1997. Sikkim Manipal Institute of Technology is privately managed and self-financing. It is affiliated to Sikkim Manipal University. Sikkim Manipal Institute of Technology offers 24 programmes, 22 at undergraduate level and 3 at postgraduate level. These include Civil Engineering, Computer Science & Engineering, Electrical and Electronics Engineering, Electronics and Communications Engineering and Electronics Engineering (VLSI Design and Technology), among others. The stated sanctioned intake across these programmes totals 642 seats. SMIT is a constituent college of Sikkim Manipal University and is located at Majitar, Rangpo, East Sikkim. Prof. (Dr.) Savitha G. Kini took charge as Director on 22 September 2025 and holds a Ph.D. from Jadavpur University. Official pages describe a Centre for Materials Science & Nano Technology, 50+ sponsored research projects historically, and a residential campus with hostel accommodation for nearly 3,000 students; these figures are not necessarily target-year submissions. No exact laboratory count, patents count, recognised-guide count, medium of instruction, or target-year faculty breakdown was published in the reviewed evidence. Parent hospital and clinical tie-ups are not applicable to this engineering college. Constituent college of Sikkim Manipal University at the Majitar campus.
Sikkim Manipal Institute of Technology (SMIT) fees
Each amount is shown with the academic year and applicant category stated by its source.
| Programme | Year | Amount |
|---|---|---|
| B.TechTuition · General (Gen), North East (NE), Defence (Def), ParaMilitary Force (PMF), GTA & SAARC Source | 2026-27 | ₹3,60,400per year |
| all programmesApplication fee Source | 2026-27 | ₹1,000one-time |
| all programmesHostel · per year Source | 2026-27 | ₹49,300per year |
| all programmesHostel · per year Source | 2026-27 | ₹60,000per year |
| all programmesHostel · per year Source | 2026-27 | ₹71,400per year |
| all programmesHostel · per year Source | 2026-27 | ₹88,200per year |
| all programmesHostel · per year Source | 2026-27 | ₹1,10,000per year |
| all programmesHostel · per year Source | 2026-27 | ₹1,20,000per year |
| all programmesHostel · per year Source | 2026-27 | ₹1,43,800per year |
| all programmesHostel · per year Source | 2026-27 | ₹2,20,000per year |
| all programmesOther charges Source | 2026-27 | ₹1,02,000per year |
| all programmesTotal · per year Source | 2026-27 | ₹1,51,300per year |
| all programmesTotal · per year Source | 2026-27 | ₹1,62,000per year |
| all programmesTotal · per year Source | 2026-27 | ₹1,73,400per year |
| all programmesTotal · per year Source | 2026-27 | ₹1,90,200per year |
| all programmesTotal · per year Source | 2026-27 | ₹2,12,000per year |
| all programmesTotal · per year Source | 2026-27 | ₹2,22,000per year |
| all programmesTotal · per year Source | 2026-27 | ₹2,45,800per year |
| all programmesTotal · per year Source | 2026-27 | ₹3,22,000per year |
| B. Tech – Lateral Entry to 2nd Yr (CE)Total · per year Source | 2026-27 | ₹1,62,850per year |
| B. Tech – Lateral Entry to 2nd Yr (CE)Total · per year Source | 2026-27 | ₹3,12,700per year |
| B. Tech – Lateral Entry to 2nd Yr (CS&IT)Total · per year Source | 2026-27 | ₹1,87,200per year |
| B. Tech – Lateral Entry to 2nd Yr (CS&IT)Total · per year Source | 2026-27 | ₹3,60,400per year |
| B. Tech – Lateral Entry to 2nd Yr (CSE(AI&ML))Total · per year Source | 2026-27 | ₹1,87,200per year |
| B. Tech – Lateral Entry to 2nd Yr (CSE(AI&ML))Total · per year Source | 2026-27 | ₹3,60,400per year |
| B. Tech – Lateral Entry to 2nd Yr (CSE(DS))Total · per year Source | 2026-27 | ₹1,87,200per year |
| B. Tech – Lateral Entry to 2nd Yr (CSE(DS))Total · per year Source | 2026-27 | ₹3,60,400per year |
| B. Tech – Lateral Entry to 2nd Yr (CSE(IoT&CSBCT))Total · per year Source | 2026-27 | ₹1,87,200per year |
| B. Tech – Lateral Entry to 2nd Yr (CSE(IoT&CSBCT))Total · per year Source | 2026-27 | ₹3,60,400per year |
| B. Tech – Lateral Entry to 2nd Yr (CSE)Total · per year Source | 2026-27 | ₹1,87,200per year |
| B. Tech – Lateral Entry to 2nd Yr (CSE)Total · per year Source | 2026-27 | ₹3,60,400per year |
| B. Tech – Lateral Entry to 2nd Yr (CST)Total · per year Source | 2026-27 | ₹1,87,200per year |
| B. Tech – Lateral Entry to 2nd Yr (CST)Total · per year Source | 2026-27 | ₹3,60,400per year |
| B. Tech – Lateral Entry to 2nd Yr (ECE)Total · per year Source | 2026-27 | ₹1,62,850per year |
| B. Tech – Lateral Entry to 2nd Yr (ECE)Total · per year Source | 2026-27 | ₹3,12,700per year |
| B. Tech – Lateral Entry to 2nd Yr (EE (VLSI D&T))Total · per year Source | 2026-27 | ₹1,62,850per year |
| B. Tech – Lateral Entry to 2nd Yr (EE (VLSI D&T))Total · per year Source | 2026-27 | ₹3,12,700per year |
| B. Tech – Lateral Entry to 2nd Yr (EEE)Total · per year Source | 2026-27 | ₹1,62,850per year |
| B. Tech – Lateral Entry to 2nd Yr (EEE)Total · per year Source | 2026-27 | ₹3,12,700per year |
| B. Tech – Lateral Entry to 2nd Yr (ME)Total · per year Source | 2026-27 | ₹1,62,850per year |
| B. Tech – Lateral Entry to 2nd Yr (ME)Total · per year Source | 2026-27 | ₹3,12,700per year |
| B. Tech (EE (VLSI D&T))Total · per year Source | 2026-27 | ₹1,62,850per year |
| B. Tech (EE (VLSI D&T))Total · per year Source | 2026-27 | ₹3,12,700per year |
| ExaminationExamination · All published B.Tech categories Source | 2026-27 | ₹3,500 |
| RegistrationRegistration Source | 2026-27 | ₹10,000one-time |
| CE, ECE, EE (VLSI D&T), EEE, ME Source | 2026-27 | ₹3,12,700 |
| All programmesSikkim Quota Source | 2026-27 | ₹2,15,600 |
| All programmes Source | 2026-27 | ₹1,83,500 |
| All programmesNon SAARC Source | 2026-27 | ₹4,50,500 |
| All programmes Source | 2026-27 | ₹3,90,900 |
| HostelHostel · Hostel Source | 2026-27 | ₹49,300 |
| Civil EngineeringApproved Source | 2026-27 | ₹3,60,400per year |
| Computer Science & EngineeringApproved Source | 2026-27 | ₹3,60,400per year |
| Electrical and Electronics EngineeringApproved Source | 2026-27 | ₹3,60,400per year |
| Electronics and Communications EngineeringApproved Source | 2026-27 | ₹3,60,400per year |
| Electronics Engineering (VLSI Design and Technology)Approved Source | 2026-27 | ₹3,60,400per year |
| Mechanical EngineeringApproved Source | 2026-27 | ₹3,60,400per year |
| Computer Science and Engineering (Artificial Intelligence and Machine Learning)Approved for closure Source | 2026-27 | ₹3,60,400per year |
| Computer Science and Engineering (Data Science)Approved for closure Source | 2026-27 | ₹3,60,400per year |
| Computer Science and Engineering (Internet of Things and Cyber Security Including Block Chain Technology)Approved for closure Source | 2026-27 | ₹3,60,400per year |
| Computer Science and Information TechnologyApproved for closure Source | 2026-27 | ₹3,60,400per year |
| Computer Science and TechnologyApproved for closure Source | 2026-27 | ₹3,60,400per year |
| Lateral-entry Civil EngineeringListed in Prospectus 2026 Source | 2026-27 | ₹3,60,400per year |
| Lateral-entry Computer Science and EngineeringListed in Prospectus 2026 Source | 2026-27 | ₹3,60,400per year |
| Lateral-entry CSE (Artificial Intelligence & Machine Learning)Listed in Prospectus 2026 Source | 2026-27 | ₹3,60,400per year |
| Lateral-entry CSE (Data Science)Listed in Prospectus 2026 Source | 2026-27 | ₹3,60,400per year |
| Lateral-entry CSE (IOT and Cyber Security including Blockchain Technology)Listed in Prospectus 2026 Source | 2026-27 | ₹3,60,400per year |
| Lateral-entry Computer Science & Information TechnologyListed in Prospectus 2026 Source | 2026-27 | ₹3,60,400per year |
| Lateral-entry Computer Science & TechnologyListed in Prospectus 2026 Source | 2026-27 | ₹3,60,400per year |
| Lateral-entry Electrical & Electronics EngineeringListed in Prospectus 2026 Source | 2026-27 | ₹3,60,400per year |
| Lateral-entry Electronics and Communication EngineeringListed in Prospectus 2026 Source | 2026-27 | ₹3,60,400per year |
| Lateral-entry Electronics Engineering (VLSI Design and Technology)Listed in Prospectus 2026 Source | 2026-27 | ₹3,60,400per year |
| Lateral-entry Mechanical EngineeringListed in Prospectus 2026 Source | 2026-27 | ₹3,60,400per year |
| Programme | Year | Amount |
|---|---|---|
| B. Tech – Lateral Entry to 2nd Yr (CE)Total · per year Source | 2026-27 | ₹95,500per year |
| B. Tech – Lateral Entry to 2nd Yr (CE)Total · per year Source | 2026-27 | ₹1,83,500per year |
| B. Tech – Lateral Entry to 2nd Yr (CS&IT)Total · per year Source | 2026-27 | ₹1,11,800per year |
| B. Tech – Lateral Entry to 2nd Yr (CS&IT)Total · per year Source | 2026-27 | ₹2,15,600per year |
| B. Tech – Lateral Entry to 2nd Yr (CSE(AI&ML))Total · per year Source | 2026-27 | ₹1,11,800per year |
| B. Tech – Lateral Entry to 2nd Yr (CSE(AI&ML))Total · per year Source | 2026-27 | ₹2,15,600per year |
| B. Tech – Lateral Entry to 2nd Yr (CSE(DS))Total · per year Source | 2026-27 | ₹1,11,800per year |
| B. Tech – Lateral Entry to 2nd Yr (CSE(DS))Total · per year Source | 2026-27 | ₹2,15,600per year |
| B. Tech – Lateral Entry to 2nd Yr (CSE(IoT&CSBCT))Total · per year Source | 2026-27 | ₹1,11,800per year |
| B. Tech – Lateral Entry to 2nd Yr (CSE(IoT&CSBCT))Total · per year Source | 2026-27 | ₹2,15,600per year |
| B. Tech – Lateral Entry to 2nd Yr (CSE)Total · per year Source | 2026-27 | ₹1,11,800per year |
| B. Tech – Lateral Entry to 2nd Yr (CSE)Total · per year Source | 2026-27 | ₹2,15,600per year |
| B. Tech – Lateral Entry to 2nd Yr (CST)Total · per year Source | 2026-27 | ₹1,11,800per year |
| B. Tech – Lateral Entry to 2nd Yr (CST)Total · per year Source | 2026-27 | ₹2,15,600per year |
| B. Tech – Lateral Entry to 2nd Yr (ECE)Total · per year Source | 2026-27 | ₹95,500per year |
| B. Tech – Lateral Entry to 2nd Yr (ECE)Total · per year Source | 2026-27 | ₹1,83,500per year |
| B. Tech – Lateral Entry to 2nd Yr (EE (VLSI D&T))Total · per year Source | 2026-27 | ₹95,500per year |
| B. Tech – Lateral Entry to 2nd Yr (EE (VLSI D&T))Total · per year Source | 2026-27 | ₹1,83,500per year |
| B. Tech – Lateral Entry to 2nd Yr (EEE)Total · per year Source | 2026-27 | ₹95,500per year |
| B. Tech – Lateral Entry to 2nd Yr (EEE)Total · per year Source | 2026-27 | ₹1,83,500per year |
| B. Tech – Lateral Entry to 2nd Yr (ME)Total · per year Source | 2026-27 | ₹95,500per year |
| B. Tech – Lateral Entry to 2nd Yr (ME)Total · per year Source | 2026-27 | ₹1,83,500per year |
| B. Tech (EE (VLSI D&T))Total · per year Source | 2026-27 | ₹95,500per year |
| B. Tech (EE (VLSI D&T))Total · per year Source | 2026-27 | ₹1,83,500per year |
| Programme | Year | Amount |
|---|---|---|
| B. Tech – Lateral Entry to 2nd Yr (CE)Total · per year Source | 2026-27 | ₹2,03,300per year |
| B. Tech – Lateral Entry to 2nd Yr (CE)Total · per year Source | 2026-27 | ₹3,90,900per year |
| B. Tech – Lateral Entry to 2nd Yr (CS&IT)Total · per year Source | 2026-27 | ₹2,34,300per year |
| B. Tech – Lateral Entry to 2nd Yr (CS&IT)Total · per year Source | 2026-27 | ₹4,50,500per year |
| B. Tech – Lateral Entry to 2nd Yr (CSE(AI&ML))Total · per year Source | 2026-27 | ₹2,34,300per year |
| B. Tech – Lateral Entry to 2nd Yr (CSE(AI&ML))Total · per year Source | 2026-27 | ₹4,50,500per year |
| B. Tech – Lateral Entry to 2nd Yr (CSE(DS))Total · per year Source | 2026-27 | ₹2,34,300per year |
| B. Tech – Lateral Entry to 2nd Yr (CSE(DS))Total · per year Source | 2026-27 | ₹4,50,500per year |
| B. Tech – Lateral Entry to 2nd Yr (CSE(IoT&CSBCT))Total · per year Source | 2026-27 | ₹2,34,300per year |
| B. Tech – Lateral Entry to 2nd Yr (CSE(IoT&CSBCT))Total · per year Source | 2026-27 | ₹4,50,500per year |
| B. Tech – Lateral Entry to 2nd Yr (CSE)Total · per year Source | 2026-27 | ₹2,34,300per year |
| B. Tech – Lateral Entry to 2nd Yr (CSE)Total · per year Source | 2026-27 | ₹4,50,500per year |
| B. Tech – Lateral Entry to 2nd Yr (CST)Total · per year Source | 2026-27 | ₹2,34,300per year |
| B. Tech – Lateral Entry to 2nd Yr (CST)Total · per year Source | 2026-27 | ₹4,50,500per year |
| B. Tech – Lateral Entry to 2nd Yr (ECE)Total · per year Source | 2026-27 | ₹2,03,300per year |
| B. Tech – Lateral Entry to 2nd Yr (ECE)Total · per year Source | 2026-27 | ₹3,90,900per year |
| B. Tech – Lateral Entry to 2nd Yr (EE (VLSI D&T))Total · per year Source | 2026-27 | ₹2,03,300per year |
| B. Tech – Lateral Entry to 2nd Yr (EE (VLSI D&T))Total · per year Source | 2026-27 | ₹3,90,900per year |
| B. Tech – Lateral Entry to 2nd Yr (EEE)Total · per year Source | 2026-27 | ₹2,03,300per year |
| B. Tech – Lateral Entry to 2nd Yr (EEE)Total · per year Source | 2026-27 | ₹3,90,900per year |
| B. Tech – Lateral Entry to 2nd Yr (ME)Total · per year Source | 2026-27 | ₹2,03,300per year |
| B. Tech – Lateral Entry to 2nd Yr (ME)Total · per year Source | 2026-27 | ₹3,90,900per year |
| B. Tech (EE (VLSI D&T))Total · per year Source | 2026-27 | ₹2,03,300per year |
| B. Tech (EE (VLSI D&T))Total · per year Source | 2026-27 | ₹3,90,900per year |
Sikkim Manipal Institute of Technology (SMIT) placements
Sikkim Manipal Institute of Technology (SMIT) placements 2025: 90% placement rate. Recruiters include Accenture, Amazon, Bosch, Cognizant.
Sikkim Manipal Institute of Technology (SMIT) gallery
Tap any photo to view it full screen. Source images retain the institution and campus identified in their captions.
Programmes & intake
Computer Science & Engineering · CSE
Electrical and Electronics Engineering
Electronics and Communications Engineering
Electronics Engineering (VLSI Design and Technology)
Mechanical Engineering
Computer Science and Engineering (Artificial Intelligence and Machine Learning)
Computer Science and Engineering (Data Science)
Computer Science and Engineering (Internet of Things and Cyber Security Including Block Chain Technology)
Computer Science and Information Technology
Computer Science and Technology
Structural Engineering
Hydrology and Water Resources Engineering
Lateral-entry Civil Engineering
Lateral-entry Computer Science and Engineering
Lateral-entry CSE (Artificial Intelligence & Machine Learning)
Lateral-entry CSE (Data Science)
Lateral-entry CSE (IOT and Cyber Security including Blockchain Technology)
Lateral-entry Computer Science & Information Technology
Lateral-entry Computer Science & Technology
Lateral-entry Electrical & Electronics Engineering
Lateral-entry Electronics and Communication Engineering
Lateral-entry Electronics Engineering (VLSI Design and Technology)
Lateral-entry Mechanical Engineering
Recognition & affiliations
Faculty & teaching
Sikkim Manipal Institute of Technology (SMIT) admissions
SMIT's 2026 prospectus lists JEE, MET or SMET for regular B.Tech admission, with separate counselling schedules for JEE-General, SMET and reserved-category groups. B.Tech lateral entry is selected on qualifying-examination merit. M.Tech admission is through GATE or an SMIT entrance test. The SMU admissions page directs applicants to the SMIT online application portal. Admission source
Scholarships — sourced details
| Fee category | All Source |
|---|---|
| Period | per year Source |
| Fee year | 2026-27 Source |
| Component | Tuition annual Source |
| Fee set by | College Source |
| Amount (INR) | 360400 Source |
| Is estimate | No Source |
| Fee category | General (Gen), North East (NE), Defence (Def), ParaMilitary Force (PMF), GTA & SAARC Source |
| Fee authority | University Source |
| Includes note | Course fee includes tuition, laboratory, university and other fees; hostel and mess excluded. Source |
| Year of study | All years Source |
| Programme code | BTECH Source |
Research — sourced details
| Company | Selco Foundation Source |
|---|---|
| Institution type | Research Source |
| Exam pattern | Credit semester Source |
| Attendance min pct | 75 Source |
| Discipline | Engineering Source |
| Publications note | 600+ publications in international journals; official page does not state a reporting year. Source |
| Funded projects note | Official achievements page reports 52 sponsored projects worth ₹15.40 crore; year not stated. Source |
| Name | Prof. (Dr.) Savitha G. Kini Source |
| Qualification | Ph.D., Jadavpur University Source |
| Institution type | MoU Source |
| Company | Wipro Ltd. Source |
| Institution type | Training Source |
Other Engineering Colleges in Sikkim
Helpful guides for your admission
Planning your application to Sikkim Manipal Institute of Technology (SMIT)? These guides break down the fees, counselling rounds and quota routes step by step.
Sikkim Manipal Institute of Technology (SMIT) contact details
| Address | Majitar, Rangpo, East Sikkim, Sikkim - 737136 |
|---|---|
| Phone | +91 3592 246353 |
| smit@smu.edu.in | |
| Website | https://www.smu.edu.in/smit/ |
| Office bearer | Role |
|---|---|
| Prof. (Dr.) Savitha G. Kini | Director Source |
| Prof. (Dr.) Pankaj Chettri | Associate Director (Student Affairs) Source |
| Prof. (Dr.) Biswaraj Sen | Head, Training Placement & Industry Liaisons Source |
| Mr. Rakesh Krishna | Training & Placement Officer Source |
| Dr. Arun Kumar Singh | Training & Placement Officer Source |
| Prof. Dr. Anindita Adhikary | Presiding Officer, Internal Complaint Committee Source |
| SANGEETA JHA | Dean / Principal / Director / Vice Chancellor Source |
| KALPANA SHARMA | Dean / Principal / Director / Vice Chancellor Source |
| GURUDAMAN LAL SHARMA | Dean / Principal / Director / Vice Chancellor Source |
More details
| Established | 1997 Source |
|---|---|
| Name | Sikkim Manipal Institute of Medical Sciences Source |
| Institution type | Medical college Source |
| Same campus | No Source |
| Official name | Sikkim Manipal Institute of Technology Source |
| Recognition code type | NIRF id Source |
| Recognition code | IR-E-C-8627 Source |
| Name | Sikkim Manipal University Source |
| Institution type | Private university Source |
| Affiliation status | Constituent Source |
| Affiliation year | 2026 Source |
| Recognition code type | AICTE permanent id Source |
| Recognition code | 1-6538045 Source |
| Recognition code type | AICTE application no Source |
| Recognition code | 1-46268386447 Source |
| Ranking year | 2025 Source |
| NAAC grade | A+ Source |
| Ranking category | Engineering Source |
| NBA programmes | Computer Science and Engineering Source |
| NBA programmes | Information Technology Source |
| Regulator | AICTE Extension of Approval Source |
| Stated session | 2026-27 Source |
| Band | 201-300 Source |
| Year | 2025 Source |
Sikkim Manipal Institute of Technology (SMIT) FAQs
What are the fees at Sikkim Manipal Institute of Technology (SMIT)?
What courses does Sikkim Manipal Institute of Technology (SMIT) offer?
Where is Sikkim Manipal Institute of Technology (SMIT) located?
Is Sikkim Manipal Institute of Technology (SMIT) recognised and accredited?
Verification & sources
This page cites 20 source links. Each source is linked beside the facts it supports.
- smu.edu.in — Accreditation and Affiliation - Sikkim Manipal University
- smu.edu.in — Mandatory Disclosure - Sikkim Manipal University
- smu.edu.in — National Institutional Ranking Framework - Sikkim Manipal University
- smu.edu.in · pdf — AICTE EoA 2026-27 for SMIT
- smu.edu.in · pdf — SMIT Prospectus 2026
- smu.edu.in — SMIT 2026 eligibility criteria
- smu.edu.in — SMU Majitar admissions
- smu.edu.in — SMIT Training & Placements
- smu.edu.in — SMIT Placement Performance
- nirfindia.org — NIRF 2025 Engineering 201-300
- smu.edu.in — SMIT Achievements
- smu.edu.in · pdf — Information Booklet 2024-25
- smu.edu.in — Overview | Sikkim Manipal University
- smu.edu.in — Research | Sikkim Manipal University
- smu.edu.in — Hostel & Campus Facilities
- smu.edu.in — Official college
- smu.edu.in — Official college
- smu.edu.in — Official college
- smu.edu.in — Official college
- smu.edu.in — Official college
Amrit Ashu
Lead Admission Counsellor. RV College of Engineering 2017 graduate, guiding students for admissions in Bangalore since 2017. Every figure on this page is checked against the official disclosures and sources linked beside it; admissions-office conversations are not used as citations.
