Reviewed 7 Sept 2026Indian Maritime University · ChennaiIndian Maritime University Fees 2026-27, Courses & Admission
Indian Maritime University is an university in Chennai, Tamil Nadu, established in 2008. It is affiliated to Indian Maritime University. Indian Maritime University offers 6 programmes, 2 at…
About Indian Maritime University
Indian Maritime University is an university in Chennai, Tamil Nadu, established in 2008. It is affiliated to Indian Maritime University. Indian Maritime University offers 6 programmes, 2 at undergraduate level and 2 at postgraduate level. These include Schools of Marine Engineering & Technology, Naval Architecture and Ocean Engineering, and Nautical Science: B.Tech, B.Sc and Dns programmes (UG), School of Maritime Management: BBA programmes (UG), School of Marine Engineering & Technology and School of Naval Architecture and Ocean Engineering: M.Tech programmes (PG), School of Maritime Management: MBA programmes (PG) and Maritime research programmes: PhD and M.S. by Research (doctoral/research), among others. Indian Maritime University is identified by the UGC as a Central University at East Coast Road, Uthandi, Chennai, and was established under the Indian Maritime University Act, 2008. Current official pages identify Dr. Malini V. Shankar, IAS (Retd.), as Vice-Chancellor. No university-wide dated faculty headcount, official medium-of-instruction statement, laboratory count, hospital/clinical tie-up, patent total or funded-project total was located in the cited material. Research activity is evidenced by official PhD and MS-by-Research ordinances, institutional thesis/publication repositories, and official research announcements. The 85% attendance figure is explicitly stated in the official B.Sc. Nautical Science syllabus and may be programme-specific rather than a universal rule for every IMU programme. Established under the Indian Maritime University Act, 2008 (Act No. 22 of 2008); the Act was notified on 11 November 2008 and the university describes its establishment as 14 November 2008. It is a teaching-cum-affiliating Central University under the Ministry of Ports, Shipping and Waterways. The target year is 2026-27; the official Chennai Campus page shows 2026-27 joining instructions and an odd-semester fee notice.
Indian Maritime University fees
Each amount is shown with the academic year and applicant category stated by its source.
| Programme | Year | Amount |
|---|---|---|
| B.Tech. (Marine Engineering)Tuition · Total fees for the academic year for the 4-year residential campus programme; not applicable to affiliated institutes. Source | 2026-27 | ₹2,75,000per year |
| B.Tech. (Marine Engineering)Registration · Programme fee shown in the campus fee table; non-refundable seat-confirmation/programme fee. Source | 2026-27 | ₹30,000one-time |
| B.Tech. (Marine Engineering)Tuition · Total fees for the academic year for the 2-year non-residential campus programme; not applicable to affiliated institutes. Source | 2026-27 | ₹2,05,000per year |
| B.Tech. (Marine Engineering)Tuition · Total fees for the academic year for the 3-year non-residential campus programme; not applicable to affiliated institutes. Source | 2026-27 | ₹1,05,000per year |
| MBA - Port & Shipping Management Source | 2026-27 | ₹2,05,000 |
| BBA Maritime Logistics (Apprenticeship embedded) Source | 2026-27 | ₹1,05,000 |
| B.Tech. (Marine Engineering)Tuition · Even-semester payment shown in the campus fee table; the table labels this as semester fee. Source | 2026-27 | ₹1,22,500per semester |
| B.Sc. Nautical ScienceTuition · Total fees for the academic year for the 3-year residential campus programme; not applicable to affiliated institutes. Source | 2026-27 | ₹2,75,000per year |
| Diploma in Nautical Science (DNS)Tuition · Total fees for the academic year for the 1-year residential campus programme; not applicable to affiliated institutes. Source | 2026-27 | ₹2,75,000per year |
| MBA - Port & Shipping ManagementTuition · Total fees for the academic year for the 2-year non-residential campus programme; not applicable to affiliated institutes. Source | 2026-27 | ₹2,05,000per year |
| MBA in International Transportation & Logistics ManagementTuition · Total fees for the academic year for the 2-year non-residential campus programme; not applicable to affiliated institutes. Source | 2026-27 | ₹2,05,000per year |
| BBA Maritime Logistics (Apprenticeship embedded)Tuition · Total fees for the academic year for the 3-year non-residential campus programme; not applicable to affiliated institutes. Source | 2026-27 | ₹1,05,000per year |
| BBA - Logistics, Retailing & E-CommerceTuition · Total fees for the academic year for the 3-year non-residential campus programme; not applicable to affiliated institutes. Source | 2026-27 | ₹1,05,000per year |
| B.Tech. (Marine Engineering)Listed in the cited fee schedule. Current programme availability and admissions status have not been independently confirmed. Source | ₹1,05,000per year |
Indian Maritime University placements
Indian Maritime University placements: recruiter network includes Adani Ports & SEZ Ltd, CMA CGM+, IBM.
Indian Maritime University gallery
Tap any photo to view it full screen. Source images retain the institution and campus identified in their captions.
Programmes & intake
School of Maritime Management: BBA programmes (UG)
School of Marine Engineering & Technology and School of Naval Architecture and Ocean Engineering: M.Tech programmes (PG)
School of Maritime Management: MBA programmes (PG)
Maritime research programmes: PhD and M.S. by Research (doctoral/research)
B.Tech. (Marine Engineering)
Recognition & affiliations
Faculty & teaching
Indian Maritime University admissions
IMU-CET counselling · Fam Engg PG · All seats (entrance-examination rank)
Seats are filled by Indian Maritime University, selection is on entrance-examination rank for the 2026 cycle.
admission sourceIMU-CET counselling · Fam Mgmt PG · All seats (entrance-examination rank)
Seats are filled by Indian Maritime University, selection is on entrance-examination rank for the 2026 cycle.
admission sourceIMU-CET counselling · Fam Engg UG · All seats (entrance-examination rank)
Seats are filled by Indian Maritime University, selection is on entrance-examination rank for the 2026 cycle.
admission sourceDirect application to the college · Fam Mgmt UG · All seats (merit in the qualifying examination)
Seats are filled by Indian Maritime University, selection is on merit in the qualifying examination for the 2026 cycle.
admission sourceFor 2026-27, UG programmes other than BBA and the PG programmes used the IMU-CET 2026 process followed by university counselling and admission lists. BBA admissions used an IMU first-come-first-served portal rather than IMU-CET. The 2026-27 page also records counselling, document verification, spot-counselling and programme-specific deadlines. Admission source
Scholarships — sourced details
| Fee category | All Source |
|---|---|
| Period | per year Source |
| Fee year | 2026-27 Source |
| Component | Total first year Source |
| Fee set by | College Source |
| Amount (INR) | 275000 Source |
| Is estimate | No Source |
| Fee category | All candidates Source |
| Fee authority | University Source |
| Includes note | Total fees for the academic year for the 4-year residential campus programme; not applicable to affiliated institutes. Source |
| Year of study | All years Source |
| Programme code | All Source |
Research — sourced details
| Discipline | University Source |
|---|---|
| Exam pattern | Semester Source |
| Attendance min pct | 85 Source |
| Institution type | Research Source |
| Year | 2024 Source |
| Company | Institute of Marine Engineers (India) Source |
| Company | RK Mehrotra Holding Pvt. Ltd. (Foresight Group) Source |
| Institution type | MoU Source |
| Company | IIITDM-Kancheepuram Source |
| Year | 2023 Source |
| Company | Indian Institute of Technology Madras Source |
Other Colleges in Chennai
Helpful guides for your admission
Planning your application to Indian Maritime University? These guides break down the fees, counselling rounds and quota routes step by step.
Indian Maritime University contact details
| Address | East Coast Road, Semmencherry, Chennai - 600119 |
|---|---|
| Phone | +91 (44) 2453 9020 |
| academicscell@imu.ac.in | |
| Website | https://www.imu.edu.in/ |
| Office bearer | Role |
|---|---|
| Dr. Malini V Shankar, I.A.S. (Retd.) | Vice Chancellor Source |
| Dr. Rajoo Balaji | Pro Vice Chancellor Source |
| Shri K. Saravanan | Registrar Source |
| Cmde. Kishore Dattatraya Joshi (Retd.) | Controller of Examinations Source |
| Shri M. Saravanan | Finance Officer (i/c) Source |
| Shri S. Murali Krishnan | Chief Vigilance Officer Source |
| Shri K. Kathirvel | Joint Registrar (Examinations & Academics) Source |
| Dr. A. Sankaran | Dean (CTR) (i/c) Source |
| Ms. Anugraha P, IAS | Chief Vigilance Officer Source |
| Shri. Varun Kumar | Public Relations Officer (i/c) Source |
| Dr. Malini V Shankar | Head of institution Source |
More details
| Established | 2008 Source |
|---|---|
| Name | IMU Chennai Campus Source |
| Institution type | Other Source |
| Same campus | Yes Source |
| Name | IMU Kochi Campus Source |
| Same campus | No Source |
| Name | IMU Kolkata Campus Source |
| Name | IMU Navi Mumbai Campus Source |
| Name | IMU Mumbai Port Campus Source |
| Name | IMU Visakhapatnam Campus Source |
| Name | Indian Maritime University Source |
| Institution type | Self-awarding Source |
| Affiliation status | Self Source |
| Opens month | Not stated as a month on the retrieved 2026-27 page Source |
| Closes month | April 2026 for IMU-CET registration; programme-specific deadlines vary Source |
| Domicile rules | IMU-CET admissions are for Indian nationals; the official FAQ states that foreign-student admissions use the DASA scheme. Source |
| Reservation note | The retrieved 2026-27 admissions page does not state a complete reservation or quota table. Source |
| Centralised portal | Yes Source |
| Programme code | FAM ENGG UG Source |
| Name | Schools of Marine Engineering & Technology, Naval Architecture and Ocean Engineering, and Nautical Science: B.Tech, B.Sc and DNS programmes (UG) Source |
| Study level | UG Source |
| Eligibility | 10+2 with Physics, Chemistry and Mathematics; programme-specific English, medical and other requirements apply. Source |
| Stated cycle | 2026-27 Source |
| Awarding body | Indian Maritime University Source |
Indian Maritime University FAQs
What are the fees at Indian Maritime University?
How can I get admission to Indian Maritime University?
What courses does Indian Maritime University offer?
Where is Indian Maritime University located?
Is Indian Maritime University recognised and accredited?
Verification & sources
This page cites 20 source links. Each source is linked beside the facts it supports.
- imu.edu.in — Indian Maritime University
- imu.edu.in — IMU Act Statutes & ordinances
- ugc.gov.in · pdf — List of 56 Central Universities
- imu.edu.in — Contact US
- ugc.gov.in — UGC Fake University list
- ugc.gov.in — UGC HEIs violating regulations
- deb.ugc.ac.in — UGC-DEB HEI programme list
- imu.edu.in — IMU Admissions 2026-2027
- imu.edu.in — Undergraduate Programmes / Programmes Offered
- imu.edu.in — B.Tech Marine Engineering
- imu.edu.in — B.Tech Naval Architecture and Ship Building Engineering
- imu.edu.in — B.Sc Nautical Science
- imu.edu.in — M.S. by Research
- imu.edu.in — PhD
- imu.edu.in — Prospectus 2026-27
- imu.edu.in · pdf — Prospectus 2026-27 PDF
- imu.edu.in — Diploma in Nautical Science course fee
- imu.edu.in — MBA — Port & Shipping Management course fee
- imu.edu.in — MBA — International Transportation & Logistics Management course fee
- imu.edu.in — BBA Maritime Logistics course fee
Amrit Ashu
Lead Admission Counsellor. RV College of Engineering 2017 graduate, guiding students for admissions in Bangalore since 2017. Every figure on this page is checked against the official disclosures and sources linked beside it; admissions-office conversations are not used as citations.
