Dr. M.G.R. Educational and Research Institute (Deemed-to-be University)
Reviewed 7 Sept 2026· 20 sources
Dr. M.G.R. Educational and Research Institute (Deemed-to-be University) campusReviewed 7 Sept 2026Dr. M.G.R. Educational and Research Institute (Deemed-to-be University) · Chennai
ChennaiEst. 1988

Dr. M.G.R. Educational and Research Institute (Deemed-to-be University) Fees 2026-27

Dr. M.G.R. Educational and Research Institute (Deemed-to-be University) is an university in Chennai, Tamil Nadu, established in 1988. It is affiliated to Dr. M.G.R. Educational and Research Institute…

NAAC A+
78%
Placement · 2023-24
Overview

About Dr. M.G.R. Educational and Research Institute (Deemed-to-be University)

Dr. M.G.R. Educational and Research Institute (Deemed-to-be University) is an university in Chennai, Tamil Nadu, established in 1988. It is affiliated to Dr. M.G.R. Educational and Research Institute (Deemed-to-be University). Dr. M.G.R. Educational and Research Institute (Deemed-to-be University) holds a NAAC grade of A+, valid until 2027-08-01. Dr. M.G.R. Educational and Research Institute (Deemed-to-be University) offers 23 programmes, 13 at undergraduate level and 9 at postgraduate level. These include Faculty of Engineering and Technology: B.Tech programmes (UG), Faculty of Engineering and Technology: M.Tech programmes (PG), Faculty of Medicine: MBBS programmes (UG), Faculty of Medicine: MD/MS programmes (PG) and Faculty of Dentistry: BDS programmes (UG), among others. Official UGC material identifies Dr. M.G.R. Educational and Research Institute, Maduravoyal, Chennai, as a deemed-to-be university under Section 3 of the UGC Act, notified on 21 January 2003. The university website states that 2026-27 admissions are open. The university reports 16 faculties and 48 departments, including Medicine, Dental, Allied Health Sciences, Engineering and Technology, Architecture, Law, Management and Humanities/Sciences. The website reports a 700-bed own multispeciality hospital, ACS Multispeciality and Hospital, Velappanchavadi, used for medical, dental and paramedical practical training. Research pages report PhD provision, 16 faculties/48 departments, Scopus H-index 51, Web of Science H-index 43, and faculty publication totals by faculty; no university-wide dated faculty headcount or exact patents/funded-project total was published in the reviewed evidence. The 75% attendance and English-medium evidence is explicit for the MBBS regulations and the examination manual; exam pattern is therefore representative of the medical programme rather than a universal rule for every university programme. As of 2026-09-07, no separate 2026-27 university-wide faculty disclosure or new fee/approval evidence was established here. Corrected establishment year: the current 2026-27 AICTE disclosure states that the university was established in 1988. The UGC deemed-university list states 21 January 2003, which is the deemed-to-be-university notification/designation date, not necessarily the founding date. The university's history describes Dr. M.G.R. Engineering College as founded in 1988 and the deemed status as conferred in 2003.

Courses & costs

Dr. M.G.R. Educational and Research Institute (Deemed-to-be University) fees

Each amount is shown with the academic year and applicant category stated by its source.

Online
ProgrammeYearAmount
MBARegistration · Online programme admission fee Source2026-27₹10,000one-time
M.Com General (General)Registration · Online programme admission fee Source2026-27₹10,000one-time
M.Sc. Statistics (Statistics)Registration · Online programme admission fee Source2026-27₹10,000one-time
MA Journalism & Mass Communication (Journalism & Mass Communication)Registration · Online programme admission fee Source2026-27₹10,000one-time
M.Sc. Data Science & Artificial Intelligence (Data Science & Artificial Intelligence)Registration · Online programme admission fee Source2026-27₹15,000one-time
B.Com General (General)Registration · Online programme admission fee Source2026-27₹15,000one-time
MBATuition · Semester-wise fee; programme is 4 semesters Source2026-27₹57,000per semester
MBAOther charges · Total for 2 years/4 semesters Source2026-27₹2,38,000per semester
M.Com General (General)Tuition · Semester-wise fee; programme is 4 semesters Source2026-27₹30,000per semester
M.Com General (General)Other charges · Total for 2 years/4 semesters Source2026-27₹1,30,000per semester
M.Sc. Statistics (Statistics)Tuition · Semester-wise fee; programme is 4 semesters Source2026-27₹30,000per semester
M.Sc. Statistics (Statistics)Other charges · Total for 2 years/4 semesters Source2026-27₹1,30,000per semester
MA Journalism & Mass Communication (Journalism & Mass Communication)Tuition · Semester-wise fee; programme is 4 semesters Source2026-27₹30,000per semester
MA Journalism & Mass Communication (Journalism & Mass Communication)Other charges · Total for 2 years/4 semesters Source2026-27₹1,30,000per semester
M.Sc. Data Science & Artificial Intelligence (Data Science & Artificial Intelligence)Tuition · Semester-wise fee; programme is 4 semesters Source2026-27₹36,000per semester
M.Sc. Data Science & Artificial Intelligence (Data Science & Artificial Intelligence)Other charges · Total for 2 years/4 semesters Source2026-27₹1,59,000per semester
B.Com General (General)Tuition · Semester-wise fee; programme is 6 semesters Source2026-27₹37,500per semester
B.Com General (General)Other charges · Total for 3 years/6 semesters Source2026-27₹1,65,000per semester
Fees
ProgrammeYearAmount
MBATuition · Total for 2 years/4 semesters Source2026-27₹2,38,000total course
M.Com General (General)Tuition · Total for 2 years/4 semesters Source2026-27₹1,30,000total course
M.Sc. Statistics (Statistics)Tuition · Total for 2 years/4 semesters Source2026-27₹1,30,000total course
MA Journalism & Mass Communication (Journalism & Mass Communication)Tuition · Total for 2 years/4 semesters Source2026-27₹1,30,000total course
M.Sc. Data Science & Artificial Intelligence (Data Science & Artificial Intelligence)Tuition · Total for 2 years/4 semesters Source2026-27₹1,59,000total course
B.Com General (General)Tuition · Total for 3 years/6 semesters Source2026-27₹1,65,000total course
M.Sc. Data Science & Artificial Intelligence Source2026-27₹15,000
NRI quota
ProgrammeYearAmount
MBARegistration · Online programme admission fee Source2026-27₹62,000one-time
MBATuition · Total for 2 years/4 semesters Source2026-27₹2,58,000total course
M.Com General (General)Registration · Online programme admission fee Source2026-27₹35,000one-time
M.Com General (General)Tuition · Total for 2 years/4 semesters Source2026-27₹1,50,000total course
M.Sc. Statistics (Statistics)Registration · Online programme admission fee Source2026-27₹35,000one-time
M.Sc. Statistics (Statistics)Tuition · Total for 2 years/4 semesters Source2026-27₹1,50,000total course
MA Journalism & Mass Communication (Journalism & Mass Communication)Registration · Online programme admission fee Source2026-27₹35,000one-time
MA Journalism & Mass Communication (Journalism & Mass Communication)Tuition · Total for 2 years/4 semesters Source2026-27₹1,50,000total course
M.Sc. Data Science & Artificial Intelligence (Data Science & Artificial Intelligence)Registration · Online programme admission fee Source2026-27₹42,500one-time
M.Sc. Data Science & Artificial Intelligence (Data Science & Artificial Intelligence)Tuition · Total for 2 years/4 semesters Source2026-27₹1,79,000total course
B.Com General (General)Tuition · Total for 3 years/6 semesters; NRI admission-fee split not stated on page Source2026-27₹1,85,000total course
NRI Students – Online Programmes
ProgrammeYearAmount
MBARegistration · Online programme admission fee Source2026-27₹62,000one-time
MBAOther charges · Total for 2 years/4 semesters Source2026-27₹2,58,000per semester
M.Com General (General)Registration · Online programme admission fee Source2026-27₹35,000one-time
M.Com General (General)Other charges · Total for 2 years/4 semesters Source2026-27₹1,50,000per semester
M.Sc. Statistics (Statistics)Registration · Online programme admission fee Source2026-27₹35,000one-time
M.Sc. Statistics (Statistics)Other charges · Total for 2 years/4 semesters Source2026-27₹1,50,000per semester
MA Journalism & Mass Communication (Journalism & Mass Communication)Registration · Online programme admission fee Source2026-27₹35,000one-time
MA Journalism & Mass Communication (Journalism & Mass Communication)Other charges · Total for 2 years/4 semesters Source2026-27₹1,50,000per semester
M.Sc. Data Science & Artificial Intelligence (Data Science & Artificial Intelligence)Registration · Online programme admission fee Source2026-27₹42,500one-time
M.Sc. Data Science & Artificial Intelligence (Data Science & Artificial Intelligence)Other charges · Total for 2 years/4 semesters Source2026-27₹1,79,000per semester
B.Com General (General)Registration · Total for 3 years/6 semesters; NRI admission-fee split not stated on page Source2026-27₹1,85,000per semester
Placements · 2023-24

Dr. M.G.R. Educational and Research Institute (Deemed-to-be University) placements

Dr. M.G.R. Educational and Research Institute (Deemed-to-be University) placements 2023-24: 78% placement rate, 374 of 481, ₹7.5L median CTC. Recruiters include Accenture Solution Pvt. Ltd., Axis Bank, Infosys Limited, Capgemini Technology Services India Limited.

78%
374 of 481
7.5LMedian CTC
Year-on-year placement rate
· PG [3 Years Program(s)]76%
· College-wide84%
· College-wide88%
· UG [3 Years Program(s)]78%
· College-wide59%
2021-22 · PG [2 Years Program(s)]78%
2021-22 · PG [3 Years Program(s)]76%
2021-22 · UG [3 Years Program(s)]78%
2022-23 · PG [2 Years Program(s)]75%
2022-23 · PG [3 Years Program(s)]84%
2022-23 · College-wide75%
2023-24 · PG [2 Years Program(s)]78%
2023-24 · PG [3 Years Program(s)]88%
2023-24 · UG [3 Years Program(s)]59%
2023-24 · College-wide78%
Recruiter network
Accenture Solution Pvt. Ltd.Axis BankInfosys LimitedCapgemini Technology Services India LimitedTATA Consultancy ServicesGooglePwCAmazonCognizantIBMWipro
Programmes · intake

Programmes & intake

Faculty of Engineering and Technology: B.Tech programmes (UG)

UG4 yr

Faculty of Engineering and Technology: M.Tech programmes (PG)

PG2 yr

Faculty of Medicine: MBBS programmes (UG)

UG5.5 yr

Faculty of Medicine: MD/MS programmes (PG)

PG3 yr

Faculty of Dentistry: BDS programmes (UG)

UG5 yr

Faculty of Dentistry: MDS programmes (PG)

PG3 yr

Faculty of Architecture: B.Arch programmes (UG)

UG5 yr

Faculty of Architecture: M.Arch programmes (PG)

PG2 yr

Faculty of Allied Health Sciences: B.Sc. programmes (UG)

UG

Faculty of Nursing: B.Sc Nursing programmes (UG)

UG4 yr

Faculty of Nursing: M.Sc Nursing programmes (PG)

PG2 yr

Faculty of Management Studies: MBA programmes (PG)

PG2 yr

Faculty of Management Studies: BBA programmes (UG)

UG3 yr

Faculty of Computer Application: BCA programmes (UG)

UG3 yr

Faculty of Computer Application: MCA programmes (PG)

PG2 yr

Faculty of Law: LLB programmes (UG)

UG

Faculty of Law: LLM programmes (PG)

PG2 yr

Faculty of Pharmacy: B.Pharm, D.Pharm and Pharm D programmes (UG)

UG4 yr

Faculty of Pharmacy: M.Pharm programmes (PG)

PG2 yr

Faculty of Humanities and Science: BA/BSc/BCom programmes (UG)

UG3 yr

Faculty of Hotel Management: B.Sc/B.A programmes (UG)

UG3 yr

Faculty of Education: B.Ed programmes (UG)

UG2 yr

Academic Research: Ph.D./M.S. (Research) across faculties (Doctoral)

Research

Recognition & affiliations

UGC DEEMED LIST

Regulator
UGC DEEMED LIST
Stated session
2024
Regulator
NAAC

Faculty & teaching

Prof. Dr. S. Geethalakshmi

Qualification
M.B.B.S., M.D., Ph.D., F.M.M.C., F.I.A.T.P., F.I.I.O.P.M. (UK), F.A.C.H.S.M. (AUS)
Admissions · collected information

Dr. M.G.R. Educational and Research Institute (Deemed-to-be University) admissions

NEET-UGNEET-PGNEET-MDSDr. M.G.R. Educational and Research Institute

NEET-UG · MCC / Tamil Nadu DME

MCC / Tamil Nadu DME · NEET-UG

rank

admission source

NEET-PG

MCC / Tamil Nadu DME · NEET-PG

rank

admission source

NEET-UG · Tamil Nadu DME

Tamil Nadu DME · NEET-UG

rank

admission source

NEET-MDS

Tamil Nadu DME · NEET-MDS

rank

admission source

The university advertises Admissions Open 2026/2026-27 through its central admissions portal. Applicants select the relevant faculty and submit through the university process; medicine and dentistry use NEET-based MCC or Tamil Nadu DME counselling as stated on the admissions page. For the July 2026 Ph.D./M.S. (Research) session, applicants first complete online eligibility checking, then submit the offline application and documents; an entrance examination is scheduled for 1 August 2026. Admission source

From the sources

Hostel — sourced details

NameACS Multispeciality and Hospital, Velappanchavadi Source
Bed strength700 Source
RelationshipOwn attached teaching hospital Source
Is teaching hospitalYes Source
From the sources

Scholarships — sourced details

Fee categoryOnline Source
PeriodOne-time Source
Fee year2026-27 Source
ComponentAdmission one time Source
Fee set byCollege Source
Amount (INR)10000 Source
Is estimateNo Source
Fee categoryIndian Students – Online Programmes Source
Fee authorityUniversity Source
Includes noteOnline programme admission fee Source
Year of studyAll years Source
Programme codeFAM MANAGEMENT Source
From the sources

Research — sourced details

Programme codeFAM MEDICAL Source
Year2026 Source
Teaching languageEnglish Source
Exam patternSemester Source
Attendance min pct75 Source
DisciplineUniversity Source
Same city

Other Colleges in Chennai

Admissions reading

Helpful guides for your admission

Planning your application to Dr. M.G.R. Educational and Research Institute (Deemed-to-be University)? These guides break down the fees, counselling rounds and quota routes step by step.

Reach the college

Dr. M.G.R. Educational and Research Institute (Deemed-to-be University) contact details

AddressPeriyar E.V.R. High Road (NH 4 Highway), Maduravoyal, Chennai - 600095
Emailcontact@drmgrdu.ac.in
Websitehttps://drmgrdu.ac.in
Office bearerRole
Prof. Dr. S. GeethalakshmiHead of institution Source
From the sources

More details

Established1988 Source
Institution typeDeemed university Source
NameThai Moogambigai Dental College and Hospital Source
Institution typeDental Source
Same campusYes Source
NameACS Medical College and Hospital Source
Institution typeMedical college Source
Same campusNo Source
NameRajaRajeswari Medical College and Hospital Source
NameSri Lalithambigai Medical College & Hospital Source
NameArni Off-Campus Centre Source
Institution typeOff campus centre Source
Recognition code typeAISHE Source
Recognition codeU-0461 Source
Recognition code typeAICTE permanent id Source
Recognition code1-3714148411 Source
Ranking year2025 Source
NAAC gradeA+ Source
Ranking categoryUniversity Source
NAAC valid until2027-08-01 Source
NBA programmesBiotechnology Source
NBA programmesElectrical and Electronics Engineering Source
NBA programmesElectronics and Communication Engineering Source
NBA programmesComputer Science and Engineering Source
FAQ

Dr. M.G.R. Educational and Research Institute (Deemed-to-be University) FAQs

What are the fees at Dr. M.G.R. Educational and Research Institute (Deemed-to-be University)?
The published annual fee at Dr. M.G.R. Educational and Research Institute (Deemed-to-be University) for M.Sc. Data Science & Artificial Intelligence is ₹15,000 under the published quota for 2026-27.
How can I get admission to Dr. M.G.R. Educational and Research Institute (Deemed-to-be University)?
Admission to Dr. M.G.R. Educational and Research Institute (Deemed-to-be University) is through NEET-UG, NEET-PG, NEET-MDS scores. Applications are submitted through the official portal at https://admissions.drmgrdu.ac.in/.
What are the placements like at Dr. M.G.R. Educational and Research Institute (Deemed-to-be University)?
Dr. M.G.R. Educational and Research Institute (Deemed-to-be University) reports 374 students placed out of 481 graduating students in 2023-24.
What courses does Dr. M.G.R. Educational and Research Institute (Deemed-to-be University) offer?
Dr. M.G.R. Educational and Research Institute (Deemed-to-be University) offers 23 programmes, including Faculty of Engineering and Technology: B.Tech programmes (UG), Faculty of Engineering and Technology: M.Tech programmes (PG), Faculty of Medicine: MBBS programmes (UG), Faculty of Medicine: MD/MS programmes (PG), Faculty of Dentistry: BDS programmes (UG), Faculty of Dentistry: MDS programmes (PG) and others.
Where is Dr. M.G.R. Educational and Research Institute (Deemed-to-be University) located?
Dr. M.G.R. Educational and Research Institute (Deemed-to-be University) is located at Periyar E.V.R. High Road (NH 4 Highway), Maduravoyal, Chennai - 600095, Tamil Nadu.
Is Dr. M.G.R. Educational and Research Institute (Deemed-to-be University) recognised and accredited?
Dr. M.G.R. Educational and Research Institute (Deemed-to-be University) is affiliated to Dr. M.G.R. Educational and Research Institute (Deemed-to-be University). It holds a NAAC grade of A+.
Sources

Verification & sources

This page cites 20 source links. Each source is linked beside the facts it supports.

Last reviewed: 7 Sept 2026.

Reviewed by

Amrit Ashu

Lead Admission Counsellor. RV College of Engineering 2017 graduate, guiding students for admissions in Bangalore since 2017. Every figure on this page is checked against the official disclosures and sources linked beside it; admissions-office conversations are not used as citations.

Chat on WhatsApp