Tumkur University campusReviewed 7 Sept 2026Tumkur University · Tumakuru
TumakuruEst. 2004

Tumkur University Fees 2026-27, Courses & Admission

Tumkur University is an university in Tumakuru, Karnataka, established in 2004. It is affiliated to Tumkur University. Tumkur University offers 8 programmes at postgraduate level. These include…

Overview

About Tumkur University

Tumkur University is an university in Tumakuru, Karnataka, established in 2004. It is affiliated to Tumkur University. Tumkur University offers 8 programmes at postgraduate level. These include Faculty of Arts: postgraduate programmes (PG), Faculty of Science and Technology: postgraduate programmes (PG), Faculty of Commerce: postgraduate programmes (PG), Faculty of Commerce and Management: postgraduate programmes (PG) and Faculty of Arts: doctoral programmes (doctoral), among others. Current official leadership pages name Prof. M. Venkateshwarlu as Vice-Chancellor. The university operates City Campus and Jnanasiri Campus, Bidrakatte. The official regulations page lists semester/CBCS programmes and 29 research-centre establishment regulations; PhD regulations include the 2024 award regulations. The 75% attendance figure is explicitly stated in an official MCA regulation and is not asserted as universal for every programme. The official MOU page lists the cited agreements; validity periods vary and some listed agreements had expired before the target date. No university-owned teaching hospital or clinical tie-up was identified. Official annual-report coverage located on the university site was archived through 2020-21; the faculty total of 145 is a current figure displayed on the university's 2026 home page, without a published breakdown. Recognition issue repaired: the UGC State (Public) Universities list dated 17.01.2024 names Tumkur University, Tumkur-572101, Karnataka, established 2004; the UGC Section 12(B) list dated 26.09.2022 also names it. The Karnataka State Universities (Amendment) Act, 2004 inserted Tumkur University with headquarters at Tumkur; the university states it came into existence in 2004-05. The current university contact page uses Tumakuru/Tumkur and B.H. Road, 572103, while the older UGC rows use Tumkur-572101 and Dr. B.R. Ambedkar Bhavan, M.G. Road; both are retained as source-specific historical/current address variants. The university's campus page says more than 86 affiliated colleges, but no exact count is recorded because the cited page does not state an exact number. The UGC fake-universities page lists Sarva Bharatiya Shiksha Peeth at Tumkur, not Tumkur University. No Tumkur University row was found in the UGC 2025-26 ODL list.

Courses & costs

Tumkur University fees

Each amount is shown with the academic year and applicant category stated by its source.

Fees
ProgrammeYearAmount
Ph.D. ProgrammeApplication fee · GM candidates · Ph.D. 2026-27 application fee; expressly for GM candidates. Source2026-27₹1,700one-time
Ph.D. ProgrammeRegistration · GM candidates · Unknown · Ph.D. 2026-27 application fee; expressly for GM candidates. Source2026-27₹1,700one-time
Fees
ProgrammeYearAmount
Ph.D. ProgrammeApplication fee · SC/ST/OBC (Non-creamy Layer)/Differently abled candidates with income limit of Rs. 2.5 lakhs · Ph.D. 2.5 lakhs, as stated in the notification. Source2026-27₹850one-time
Ph.D. ProgrammeRegistration · SC/ST/OBC (Non-creamy Layer)/Differently abled candidates with income limit of Rs. 2.5 lakhs · Unknown · Ph.D. 2.5 lakhs, as stated in the notification. Source2026-27₹850one-time
Programmes · intake

Programmes & intake

Faculty of Arts: postgraduate programmes (PG)

PG2 yr

Faculty of Science and Technology: postgraduate programmes (PG)

PG2 yr

Faculty of Commerce: postgraduate programmes (PG)

PG2 yr

Faculty of Commerce and Management: postgraduate programmes (PG)

PG2 yr

Faculty of Arts: doctoral programmes (doctoral)

doctoral

Faculty of Commerce: doctoral programmes (doctoral)

doctoral

Faculty of Management: doctoral programmes (doctoral)

doctoral

Faculty of Science and Technology: doctoral programmes (doctoral)

doctoral

Recognition & affiliations

RegulatorStated session
UGC STATE LIST
2024-01-17
UGC Section 12(B) letter
2022-09-26
AISHE
2020-21
STATE UNIVERSITY ACT
2004
NIRF ranking record
2024

Faculty & teaching

Total
145
Name
Prof. M. Venkateshwarlu
Admissions · collected information

Tumkur University admissions

Ph.D. Entrance Test 2026 counselling · Fam Arts · All seats (merit in the qualifying examination)Ph.D. Entrance Test 2026 counselling · Fam Commerce · All seats (merit in the qualifying examination)Ph.D. Entrance Test 2026 counselling · Fam Mgmt · All seats (merit in the qualifying examination)Ph.D. Entrance Test 2026 counselling · Fam Science · All seats (merit in the qualifying examination)

Tumkur University · Ph.D. Entrance Test 2026

Seats are filled by Tumkur University, selection is on merit in the qualifying examination for the 2026 cycle.

admission source

Ph.D. Entrance Test 2026 counselling · Fam Commerce · All seats (merit in the qualifying examination)

Tumkur University · Ph.D. Entrance Test 2026

marks

admission source

Ph.D. Entrance Test 2026 counselling · Fam Mgmt · All seats (merit in the qualifying examination)

Tumkur University · Ph.D. Entrance Test 2026

marks

admission source

Ph.D. Entrance Test 2026 counselling · Fam Science · All seats (merit in the qualifying examination)

Tumkur University · Ph.D. Entrance Test 2026

marks

admission source

Tumkur University publishes its own 2026-27 PG and Ph.D. admission notices. The Ph.D. notice requires an online application, qualifying master's degree, an entrance test followed by interview; candidates with specified UGC-NET/CSIR/DST/DBT/ICMR JRF/SRF or INSPIRE qualifications are exempt from the entrance test but still attend the interview. The university home page records that the 2026-27 PG application deadline was extended to 11 August 2026. Admission source

From the sources

Scholarships — sourced details

Fee categoryMerit Source
PeriodOne-time Source
Fee year2026-27 Source
ComponentApplication fee Source
Fee set byCollege Source
Amount (INR)1700 Source
Is estimateNo Source
Fee categoryGM candidates Source
Fee authorityUniversity Source
Includes notePh.D. 2026-27 application fee; expressly for GM candidates. Source
Year of studyAll years Source
Programme codeFAM PHD Source
From the sources

Research — sourced details

DisciplineUniversity Source
CompanySiddaganga Institute of Technology, Tumakuru Source
Institution typeMoU Source
Year2020 Source
CompanyInfosys (Springboard) Pvt Ltd., Bengaluru Source
Year2022 Source
CompanyISETILAB Incubation Foundation, Infopace Management Pvt Ltd and Vision Karnataka Foundation Source
CompanyRooman Technologies Pvt Ltd., Bengaluru Source
Year2023 Source
CompanyWipro Cares, Bengaluru Source
Year2024 Source
Exam patternSemester Source
Same state

Other Colleges in Karnataka

Admissions reading

Helpful guides for your admission

Planning your application to Tumkur University? These guides break down the fees, counselling rounds and quota routes step by step.

Reach the college

Tumkur University contact details

AddressVishwavidyanilaya Karyalaya, B.H. Road, Tumkur 572103
Websitehttps://tumkuruniversity.ac.in
Office bearerRole
Prof. M. VenkateshwarluHead of institution Source
From the sources

More details

Official nameTumkur University Source
Institution typeState university Source
Established2004 Source
NameUniversity College of Arts Source
Institution typeConstituent college Source
Same campusYes Source
NameUniversity College of Science Source
Recognition code typeAISHE Source
Recognition codeU-0244 Source
Recognition code typeUGC list serial Source
Recognition code198 Source
Recognition code98 Source
Ranking year2024 Source
NAAC gradeB+ Source
Ranking categoryState public university Source
NameTumkur University Source
Institution typeSelf-awarding Source
Affiliation statusSelf Source
Opens monthApril 2026 Source
Closes monthAugust 2026 (PG notice); May 2026 (Ph.D. notice) Source
Domicile rulesState-level reservation policy applies to Ph.D. admissions; detailed PG domicile rules were not stated on the reviewed current page. Source
Programme codeFAM ARTS Source
NameFaculty of Arts: postgraduate programmes (PG) Source
Study levelPG Source
FAQ

Tumkur University FAQs

How can I get admission to Tumkur University?
Admission to Tumkur University is through the PH.D. ENTRANCE TEST 2026 route. Applications are submitted through the official portal at https://tumkuruniversity.ac.in/phd2026/.
What courses does Tumkur University offer?
Tumkur University offers 8 programmes, including Faculty of Arts: postgraduate programmes (PG), Faculty of Science and Technology: postgraduate programmes (PG), Faculty of Commerce: postgraduate programmes (PG), Faculty of Commerce and Management: postgraduate programmes (PG), Faculty of Arts: doctoral programmes (doctoral), Faculty of Commerce: doctoral programmes (doctoral) and others.
Where is Tumkur University located?
Tumkur University is located at Vishwavidyanilaya Karyalaya, B.H. Road, Tumkur 572103, Karnataka, India.
Is Tumkur University recognised and accredited?
Tumkur University is affiliated to Tumkur University.
Sources

Verification & sources

This page cites 20 source links. Each source is linked beside the facts it supports.

Last reviewed: 7 Sept 2026.

Reviewed by

Amrit Ashu

Lead Admission Counsellor. RV College of Engineering 2017 graduate, guiding students for admissions in Bangalore since 2017. Every figure on this page is checked against the official disclosures and sources linked beside it; admissions-office conversations are not used as citations.

Chat on WhatsApp