Reviewed 7 Sept 2026Sree Balaji Dental College and Hospital · ChennaiSree Balaji Dental College & Hospital Fees 2026-27, Courses & Admission
Sree Balaji Dental College & Hospital is a dental college in Chennai, Tamil Nadu, established in 1989. It is affiliated to Bharath Institute of Higher Education and Research. Its programmes are…
About Sree Balaji Dental College and Hospital
Sree Balaji Dental College & Hospital is a dental college in Chennai, Tamil Nadu, established in 1989. It is affiliated to Bharath Institute of Higher Education and Research. Its programmes are approved by the DCI. Sree Balaji Dental College & Hospital offers 9 programmes, 1 at undergraduate level and 8 at postgraduate level. These include BDS, M.D.S - Orthodontics & Dento Facial Orthopaedics, M.D.S - Conservative Dentistry and Endodontics, M.D.S - Prosthodontics and Crown and Bridge and M.D.S - Oral and Maxillofacial Surgery, among others. The stated sanctioned intake across these programmes totals 129 seats. Official college sources identify Sree Balaji Dental College & Hospital as affiliated with Bharath Institute of Higher Education and Research and established in 1989. The AQAR reports approximately 300 patients per day, six laboratories, 136 permanent staff, 80% average student attendance, 11 PhD guides, research funding of Rs 39.17 lakh and 15 patents received during that year. The official principal page identifies Dr. S. Jimson as principal from 14 March 2022, but does not state a qualification. Dental-chair counts are published department-by-department rather than as one college-wide total and are not merged. The college website and BIHER page identify the unit as operating under Bharath Institute of Higher Education and Research (BIHER), a deemed university. The official IQAC report describes it as private, non-profit and self-financing.
Sree Balaji Dental College and Hospital fees
Each amount is shown with the academic year and applicant category stated by its source.
| Programme | Year | Amount |
|---|---|---|
| BDSTuition · Tamil Nadu Selection Committee fee for self-financing dental colleges; subject to revision at counselling. Source | 2026-27 | ₹6,00,000per year |
| Programme | Year | Amount |
|---|---|---|
| BDSTuition · College-published BDS annual tuition fee; historical latest college schedule located, not a 2026-27 schedule. Source | 2025-26 | ₹5,00,000per year |
| M.D.S - ORTHODONTICS & DENTO FACIAL ORTHOPAEDICS (Orthodontics & Dento Facial Orthopaedics)Tuition · College-published MDS annual tuition fee; historical latest college schedule located, not a 2026-27 schedule. Source | 2025-26 | ₹15,00,000per year |
| M.D.S - ORAL PATHOLOGY & MICROBIOLOGY (Oral Pathology & Microbiology)Tuition · College-published MDS annual tuition fee; historical latest college schedule located, not a 2026-27 schedule. Source | 2025-26 | ₹3,00,000per year |
| Programme | Year | Amount |
|---|---|---|
| M.D.S - Orthodontics & Dento Facial OrthopaedicsTuition · College-published MDS annual tuition fee; historical latest college schedule located, not a 2026-27 schedule. Source | 2025-26 | ₹15,00,000per year |
| M.D.S - Oral Pathology & MicrobiologyTuition · College-published fee schedule; quota not stated Source | 2025-26 | ₹3,00,000per year |
| M.D.S - Oral Pathology & Microbiology Source | 2026-27 | ₹15,00,000 |
| M.D.S - Oral Pathology & Microbiology Source | 2026-27 | ₹3,00,000 |
| BDSrecognised by the Dental Council of India Source | 2025-26 | ₹5,00,000per year |
| M.D.S - Orthodontics & Dento Facial Orthopaedicssanctioned seats Source | 2025-26 | ₹3,00,000per year |
| M.D.S - Conservative Dentistry and Endodonticssanctioned seats Source | 2025-26 | ₹3,00,000per year |
| M.D.S - Prosthodontics and Crown and Bridgesanctioned seats Source | 2025-26 | ₹3,00,000per year |
| M.D.S - Oral and Maxillofacial Surgerysanctioned seats Source | 2025-26 | ₹3,00,000per year |
| M.D.S - Paedodontics and Preventive Dentistrysanctioned seats Source | 2025-26 | ₹3,00,000per year |
| M.D.S - Periodontologysanctioned seats Source | 2025-26 | ₹3,00,000per year |
| M.D.S - Oral Medicine and Radiologysanctioned seats Source | 2025-26 | ₹3,00,000per year |
| M.D.S - Oral Pathology & Microbiologysanctioned seats Source | 2025-26 | ₹3,00,000per year |
| Programme | Year | Amount |
|---|---|---|
| BDSTuition · Tamil Nadu Selection Committee fee for self-financing dental colleges; subject to revision at counselling. Source | 2026-27 | ₹9,00,000per year |
Sree Balaji Dental College and Hospital placements
Sree Balaji Dental College and Hospital placements 2024-25: 82% placement rate, 55 of 67, ₹5.1L median CTC.Source: placement source
College-wide placements for 2024-25: 55 of 67 students placed, a placement rate of 82%, a median package of 5.1 LPA.
Sree Balaji Dental College and Hospital gallery
Tap any photo to view it full screen. Source images retain the institution and campus identified in their captions.
Programmes & intake
M.D.S - Orthodontics & Dento Facial Orthopaedics
M.D.S - Conservative Dentistry and Endodontics
M.D.S - Prosthodontics and Crown and Bridge
M.D.S - Oral and Maxillofacial Surgery
M.D.S - Paedodontics and Preventive Dentistry
M.D.S - Periodontology
M.D.S - Oral Medicine and Radiology
M.D.S - Oral Pathology & Microbiology
Recognition & affiliations
Faculty & teaching
Sree Balaji Dental College and Hospital admissions
NEET-MDS counselling · MDS · Deemed uniform quota (entrance-examination rank)
Seats are filled by Medical Counselling Committee (MCC) / DGHS, selection is on entrance-examination rank for the 2026 cycle.
admission sourceNEET-UG counselling · BDS · Deemed uniform quota (entrance-examination rank)
Seats are filled by Medical Counselling Committee (MCC) / DGHS, selection is on entrance-examination rank for the 2026 cycle.
admission sourceFor BDS, candidates must qualify NEET-UG 2026 and participate in MCC counselling for deemed-university seats. For MDS, candidates must qualify NEET-MDS and participate in MCC postgraduate dental counselling; the 2026 MCC page lists the deemed-university MDS seat matrix. Admission source
Hostel — sourced details
| Relationship | Own attached dental hospital Source |
|---|---|
| Is teaching hospital | Yes Source |
Scholarships — sourced details
| Fee category | Management Source |
|---|---|
| Period | per year Source |
| Fee year | 2026-27 Source |
| Component | Tuition annual Source |
| Fee set by | State authority Source |
| Amount (INR) | 600000 Source |
| Is estimate | No Source |
| Fee category | Management Quota Source |
| Fee authority | Fee regulatory committee Source |
| Includes note | Tamil Nadu Selection Committee fee for self-financing dental colleges; subject to revision at counselling. Source |
| Year of study | All years Source |
| Programme code | BDS Source |
Research — sourced details
| Teaching language | English Source |
|---|---|
| Exam pattern | Annual Source |
| Attendance min pct | 80 Source |
| Discipline | Dental Source |
| Institution type | MoU Source |
| Company | University of Leeds (UK) Source |
| Company | IIT Madras, Department of Metallurgy and Nanomaterials Source |
| Company | Chiang Mai University Source |
| Company | Golden Jubilee Biotech Park Source |
Other Dental Colleges in Chennai
Sree Balaji Dental College and Hospital contact details
| Address | Velachery Main Road, Narayanapuram, Pallikaranai, Chennai, Tamil Nadu 600100 |
|---|---|
| Website | https://sbdch.ac.in |
| Office bearer | Role |
|---|---|
| Dr. S. Jimson | Head of institution Source |
More details
| Official name | Sree Balaji Dental College & Hospital Source |
|---|---|
| Established | 1989 Source |
| Name | Bharath Institute of Higher Education and Research Source |
| Institution type | Deemed Source |
| Affiliation status | Constituent Source |
| Opens month | August Source |
| Domicile rules | Deemed-university seats are handled through MCC; the 2026 Tamil Nadu state prospectus excludes deemed universities from the state-quota definition. Source |
| Reservation note | MCC published a 2026-27 NRI eligibility notice; quota-specific eligibility must follow the applicable MCC bulletin. Source |
| Centralised portal | Yes Source |
| Programme code | BDS Source |
| Name | BDS Source |
| Study level | UG Source |
| Eligibility | 10+2 with Physics, Chemistry, Biology and English; NEET-UG qualified Source |
| Intake year | 2025 Source |
| Stated cycle | 2025-26 Source |
| Awarding body | Bharath Institute of Higher Education and Research Source |
| Approving body | DCI Source |
| Duration in years | 5 Source |
| Approval status | Recognised Source |
| Gender admitted | Co-educational Source |
| Internship (months) | 12 Source |
| Sanctioned intake | 100 Source |
| Awarding body type | Deemed Source |
| Intake source | College site Source |
Sree Balaji Dental College and Hospital FAQs
What are the fees at Sree Balaji Dental College and Hospital?
How can I get admission to Sree Balaji Dental College and Hospital?
What are the placements like at Sree Balaji Dental College and Hospital?
What courses does Sree Balaji Dental College and Hospital offer?
Where is Sree Balaji Dental College and Hospital located?
Is Sree Balaji Dental College and Hospital recognised and accredited?
Verification & sources
This page cites 20 source links. Each source is linked beside the facts it supports.
- sbdch.ac.in — Sree Balaji Dental College & Hospital official website
- bharathuniv.ac.in — BIHER School of Dentistry
- sbdch.ac.in · pdf — Annual Quality Assurance Report 2022-2023
- dciindia.gov.in · pdf — National Dental Commission Total College list
- dciindia.gov.in · pdf — DCI communication L.No.3115
- mcc.nic.in — MCC MDS Counselling 2026
- sbdch.ac.in — SBDCH BDS admission guidelines
- sbdch.ac.in — SBDCH MDS admission guidelines
- mcc.nic.in — MCC 2026 UG current events
- tnmedicalselection.net · pdf — Tamil Nadu 2026-27 management prospectus
- sbdch.ac.in — Anusuya Meritorious Student Scholarship Award
- sbdch.ac.in — Images
- sbdch.ac.in · pdf — National Institutional Ranking Framework
- sbdch.ac.in · pdf — Career Guidance
- sbdch.ac.in — Orthodontics and Dentofacial Orthopedics Unveiled: Crafting Confident Smiles
- nirfindia.org — MoE, National Institute Ranking Framework (NIRF)
- sbdch.ac.in · pdf — National Institutional Ranking Framework
- mdch.in · pdf — Tamil Nadu Dr. M.G.R. Medical University BDS Academic Regulations
- sbdch.ac.in — Principal of SBDCH
- sbdch.ac.in — PreCIDenT Research and Impact
Amrit Ashu
Lead Admission Counsellor. RV College of Engineering 2017 graduate, guiding students for admissions in Bangalore since 2017. Every figure on this page is checked against the official disclosures and sources linked beside it; admissions-office conversations are not used as citations.
