Reviewed 7 Sept 2026King George's Medical University - Faculty of Dental Sciences (KGMU) · LucknowFaculty of Dental Sciences, King George's Medical University Fees 2026-27, Courses
Faculty of Dental Sciences, King George's Medical University is a dental college in Lucknow, Uttar Pradesh, established in 1949. Faculty of Dental Sciences, King George's Medical University is…
About King George's Medical University - Faculty of Dental Sciences (KGMU)
Faculty of Dental Sciences, King George's Medical University is a dental college in Lucknow, Uttar Pradesh, established in 1949. Faculty of Dental Sciences, King George's Medical University is government-run. It is affiliated to King George's Medical University. Its programmes are approved by the DCI. Faculty of Dental Sciences, King George's Medical University offers 12 programmes, 1 at undergraduate level and 9 at postgraduate level. These include Bachelor of Dental Sciences (BDS) Course, MDS (Conservative Dentistry and Endodontics), MDS (Oral and Maxillofacial Pathology and Oral Microbiology), MDS (Oral and Maxillofacial Surgery) and MDS (Oral Medicine and Radiology), among others. The stated sanctioned intake across these programmes totals 138 seats. Official KGMU pages identify this institution as the Faculty of Dental Sciences, King George's Medical University, Lucknow. The dental faculty has 9 departments; its official education page states annual intake of 70 BDS and 27 MDS students, while the 2023-24 AQAR states 100 BDS seats and MDS across 9 subjects; these figures are not reconciled here and neither is treated as a verified 2026-27 regulator-sanctioned intake. Dental Hygiene and Dental Mechanics certificate courses are stated to be stopped by court order. The official 2023-24 AQAR identifies Gandhi Memorial & Associated Hospitals as supporting clinical training, but does not publish a dental-specific bed count or accreditation. The NDC/legacy DCI materials identify the college and list BDS plus MDS specialisations including Oral & Maxillofacial Surgery, Periodontics, Prosthodontics, Orthodontics, Conservative Dentistry and Pedodontics; a singular current 2026-27 programme permission/intake table was not available in the reviewed regulator material. KGMU's dental page reports advanced dental equipment and two dental journals, and the AQAR reports a DHR Multidisciplinary Research Unit grant for the Faculty of Dental Sciences (2018-2023). The dental unit began as a dental wing in 1949, became a separate department in 1950/1952 depending on the institutional history page, became a full faculty in 1980, and its separate-university status reverted to a faculty of KGMU in 2007. The official dental page states 70 BDS and 27 MDS annual intake; these are college-published figures and are not treated as 2026-27 regulator-sanctioned intake. The DCI/NDC search result describes the institution as government and gives an establishment period of 1951-52, which conflicts with KGMU's own dental history; the earlier dental-wing date is used for the faculty's origin.
King George's Medical University - Faculty of Dental Sciences (KGMU) fees
Each amount is shown with the academic year and applicant category stated by its source.
| Programme | Year | Amount |
|---|---|---|
| Bachelor of Dental Sciences (BDS) CourseTuition · Listed under General students for MBBS/BDS. Source | 2026-09 | ₹18,000per year |
| Bachelor of Dental Sciences (BDS) CourseTuition · Listed under SC/ST students for MBBS/BDS. Source | 2026-09 | ₹9,000per year |
| Bachelor of Dental Sciences (BDS) CourseOther charges · Other charge; same amount listed for General and SC/ST MBBS/BDS students. Source | 2026-09 | ₹4,000per year |
| Bachelor of Dental Sciences (BDS) CourseOther charges · Development fee; same amount listed for General and SC/ST MBBS/BDS students. Source | 2026-09 | ₹2,000per year |
| Bachelor of Dental Sciences (BDS) CourseRegistration · Caution money; refundable. Source | 2026-09 | ₹10,000one-time |
| Bachelor of Dental Sciences (BDS) CourseHostel · Hostel fee listed in the MBBS/BDS fee schedule; no hostel gender, mess or mandatory-status detail stated. Source | 2026-09 | ₹2,400per year |
| Bachelor of Dental Sciences (BDS) CourseOther charges · Electricity charge in the MBBS/BDS fee schedule. Source | 2026-09 | ₹2,500per year |
| MDS (Prosthodontics and Crown and Bridge)Tuition · Listed in the MD/MS/MDS/DM/MCH fee schedule; category split not stated. Source | 2026-09 | ₹24,000per year |
| MDS (Prosthodontics and Crown and Bridge)Registration · Caution money; refundable; listed in the MD/MS/MDS/DM/MCH fee schedule. Source | 2026-09 | ₹10,000one-time |
| MDS (Prosthodontics and Crown and Bridge)Other charges · Electricity charge in the MD/MS/MDS/DM/MCH fee schedule. Source | 2026-09 | ₹6,000per year |
| Bachelor of Dental Sciences (BDS) CourseExamination · MBBS and BDS regular or supplementary examination fee per student. Source | 2026-09 | ₹6,000per year |
| MDS (Prosthodontics and Crown and Bridge)Examination · MDS 1st-year regular or supplementary examination fee per student. Source | 2026-09 | ₹4,000per year |
| MDS (Prosthodontics and Crown and Bridge)Examination · MDS final-year regular or supplementary examination fee per student. Source | 2026-09 | ₹18,000per year |
| Bachelor of Dental Sciences (BDS) CourseTuition · General Source | undated; official page accessed 2026-09-07 | ₹18,000per year |
| MDS (Public Health Dentistry) Source | 2026-27 | ₹24,000 |
| Bachelor of Dental Sciences (BDS) Course Source | 2026 | ₹2,000per year |
| MDS (Conservative Dentistry and Endodontics) Source | 2026 | ₹6,000per year |
| MDS (Oral and Maxillofacial Pathology and Oral Microbiology) Source | 2026 | ₹6,000per year |
| MDS (Oral and Maxillofacial Surgery) Source | 2026 | ₹6,000per year |
| MDS (Oral Medicine and Radiology) Source | 2026 | ₹6,000per year |
| MDS (Orthodontics and Dentofacial Orthopedics) Source | 2026 | ₹6,000per year |
| MDS (Pediatric and Preventive Dentistry) Source | 2026 | ₹6,000per year |
| MDS (Prosthodontics and Crown and Bridge) Source | 2026 | ₹6,000per year |
| Programme | Year | Amount |
|---|---|---|
| Bachelor of Dental Surgery (BDS)Tuition · Listed under General students for MBBS/BDS. Source | 2026-09 | ₹18,000per year |
| Master of Dental Surgery (MDS) (All MDS specialisations)Tuition · Listed in the MD/MS/MDS/DM/MCH fee schedule; category split not stated. Source | 2026-09 | ₹24,000per year |
| Master of Dental Surgery (MDS) (All MDS specialisations)Registration · Caution money; refundable; listed in the MD/MS/MDS/DM/MCH fee schedule. Source | 2026-09 | ₹10,000one-time |
| Master of Dental Surgery (MDS) (All MDS specialisations)Tuition · Electricity charge in the MD/MS/MDS/DM/MCH fee schedule. Source | 2026-09 | ₹6,000per year |
| Master of Dental Surgery (MDS) (All MDS specialisations)Tuition · MDS 1st-year regular or supplementary examination fee per student. Source | 2026-09 | ₹4,000per year |
| Master of Dental Surgery (MDS) (All MDS specialisations)Tuition · MDS final-year regular or supplementary examination fee per student. Source | 2026-09 | ₹18,000per year |
| Programme | Year | Amount |
|---|---|---|
| Bachelor of Dental Surgery (BDS)Tuition · Listed under SC/ST students for MBBS/BDS. Source | 2026-09 | ₹9,000per year |
| Programme | Year | Amount |
|---|---|---|
| Bachelor of Dental Surgery (BDS)Tuition · Other charge; same amount listed for General and SC/ST MBBS/BDS students. Source | 2026-09 | ₹4,000per year |
| Bachelor of Dental Surgery (BDS)Tuition · Development fee; same amount listed for General and SC/ST MBBS/BDS students. Source | 2026-09 | ₹2,000per year |
| Bachelor of Dental Surgery (BDS)Registration · Caution money; refundable. Source | 2026-09 | ₹10,000one-time |
| Bachelor of Dental Surgery (BDS)Hostel · Hostel fee listed in the MBBS/BDS fee schedule; no hostel gender, mess or mandatory-status detail stated. Source | 2026-09 | ₹2,400per year |
| Bachelor of Dental Surgery (BDS)Tuition · Electricity charge in the MBBS/BDS fee schedule. Source | 2026-09 | ₹2,500per year |
| Bachelor of Dental Surgery (BDS)Tuition · MBBS and BDS regular or supplementary examination fee per student. Source | 2026-09 | ₹6,000per year |
King George's Medical University - Faculty of Dental Sciences (KGMU) placements
King George's Medical University - Faculty of Dental Sciences (KGMU) placements 2023-24: 100% placement rate, 42 of 42, ₹16.5L median CTC.Source: placement source
College-wide placements for 2023-24: 42 of 42 students placed, a placement rate of 100%, a median package of 16.5 LPA.
King George's Medical University - Faculty of Dental Sciences (KGMU) gallery
Tap any photo to view it full screen. Source images retain the institution and campus identified in their captions.
Programmes & intake
MDS (Conservative Dentistry and Endodontics)
MDS (Oral and Maxillofacial Pathology and Oral Microbiology)
MDS (Oral and Maxillofacial Surgery)
MDS (Oral Medicine and Radiology)
MDS (Orthodontics and Dentofacial Orthopedics)
MDS (Pediatric and Preventive Dentistry)
MDS (Periodontology)
MDS (Prosthodontics and Crown and Bridge)
MDS (Public Health Dentistry)
Dental Hygiene certificate course
Dental Mechanics certificate course
Recognition & affiliations
King George's Medical University - Faculty of Dental Sciences (KGMU) admissions
NEET-MDS counselling · MDS · Aiq quota (entrance-examination rank)
Seats are filled by MCC, selection is on entrance-examination rank for the 2026 cycle.
admission sourceNEET counselling · BDS · Other quota
admission sourceKGMU states that BDS admission is only through NEET and lists 70 seats through NEET UP. MCC provides online UG dental counselling and 2026 MDS counselling/seat-matrix routes; NEET-MDS 2026 is the single eligibility-cum-entrance examination for MDS. No current KGMU-specific UP MDS notification was found in the reviewed material. Admission source
Hostel — sourced details
| Name | Gandhi Memorial & Associated Hospitals Source |
|---|---|
| Relationship | Own attached dental hospital Source |
| Is teaching hospital | Yes Source |
Scholarships — sourced details
| Payment terms | Online fee submission is provided through KGMU's Student Fee Portal; no instalment schedule was published on the reviewed official pages. Source |
|---|---|
| Refund policy | Caution money is identified as refundable. No broader tuition/refund policy was published on the reviewed official pages. Source |
| Fee category | Government Source |
| Period | per year Source |
| Fee year | undated; official page accessed 2026-09-07 Source |
| Component | Tuition annual Source |
| Fee set by | College Source |
| Amount (INR) | 18000 Source |
| Is estimate | No Source |
| Fee category | General Source |
| Fee authority | University Source |
| Includes note | Listed under General students for MBBS/BDS. Source |
Other Dental Colleges in Lucknow
King George's Medical University - Faculty of Dental Sciences (KGMU) contact details
| Address | Shahmina Road, Chowk, Lucknow, Uttar Pradesh 226003 |
|---|---|
| info@kgmcindia.edu | |
| Website | https://kgmu.org |
More details
| Established | 1949 Source |
|---|---|
| NIRF rank | 7 Source |
| Ranking year | 2025 Source |
| Ranking category | Dental Source |
| Name | King George's Medical University Source |
| Institution type | State health university Source |
| Affiliation status | Constituent Source |
| Discipline | Dental Source |
| Catalogue complete | No Source |
| Programme code | BDS Source |
| Fee set by | State authority Source |
| Exam name | NEET-UG Source |
| Cycle year | 2026 Source |
| Exam family | National exam Source |
| Authority name | MCC Source |
| Neet used | Yes Source |
| Fee category | AIQ Source |
| Authority type | Central Source |
| Exam name | NEET Source |
| Fee category | Other Source |
| Programme code | MDS Source |
| Basis | Rank Source |
| Specialisation | Conservative Dentistry and Endodontics Source |
| Seat share pct | 50 Source |
King George's Medical University - Faculty of Dental Sciences (KGMU) FAQs
What are the fees at King George's Medical University - Faculty of Dental Sciences (KGMU)?
How can I get admission to King George's Medical University - Faculty of Dental Sciences (KGMU)?
What are the placements like at King George's Medical University - Faculty of Dental Sciences (KGMU)?
What courses does King George's Medical University - Faculty of Dental Sciences (KGMU) offer?
Where is King George's Medical University - Faculty of Dental Sciences (KGMU) located?
Is King George's Medical University - Faculty of Dental Sciences (KGMU) recognised and accredited?
Verification & sources
This page cites 20 source links. Each source is linked beside the facts it supports.
- kgmu.org — KGMU Dental Education
- kgmu.org — KGMU History
- dciindia.gov.in · pdf — NDC/ DCI Total College List
- dciindia.gov.in — NDC/ DCI College List
- nirfindia.org — NIRF India Rankings 2025 Dental
- kgmu.org — KGMU Faculty of Dental Sciences
- kgmu.org — Feedetails
- kgmu.org — ge's Medical University, Chowk, Lucknow U.P. INDIA...King Geor
- cdnbbsr.s3waas.gov.in · pdf — FINAL AIQ SEAT MATRIX FOR PG COUNSELLING 2026 MDS.xlsx
- mcc.nic.in — UG Medical Counselling | Medical Counselling Committee (MCC) | India
- cdnbbsr.s3waas.gov.in · pdf — regulator
- mcc.nic.in — MDS Counselling 2026 | Medical Counselling Committee (MCC) | India
- nbe.edu.in · pdf — NEET-MDS 2026 Information Bulletin
- upneet.gov.in — Online Counselling for UP NEET-2026 Counseling
- kgmu.org — KGMU Examination Fee Details
- upneet.gov.in — UP NEET Institution's List
- stums.kgmu.org — KGMU Student Fee Portal
- kgmu.org — Examination Result
- placement.kgmu.org
- nirfindia.org · pdf — National Institutional Ranking Framework
Amrit Ashu
Lead Admission Counsellor. RV College of Engineering 2017 graduate, guiding students for admissions in Bangalore since 2017. Every figure on this page is checked against the official disclosures and sources linked beside it; admissions-office conversations are not used as citations.
